XXVII edition of the GAWTEC Training course: Aerosols

The XXVII edition of the GAWTEC (Global Atmosphere Watch Training & Education Centre) training course, focused on aerosols, took place from 16th to 29th of November. The course is funded by the German Federal Environment Agency (“Umweltbundesamt”, UBA), the Bavarian State Ministry of the Environment and Public Health and the World Meteorological Organization (WMO). It was held at the Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus (“Umweltforschungsstation Schneefernerhaus”, UFS), located in the Zugspitze mountainside (2650 m.a.s.l, Fig.1), which has exceptional facilities for accommodation as well as for providing the lessons.

Figure 1: Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus (UFS).

GAWTEC provides training in measurement techniques, data analysis and interpretation for the Global Atmospheric Watch (GAW) personnel. The lessons were given by experts in the fields of research and monitoring of aerosols:

Alfred Wiedensohler (Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research),  Kaarle Hämeri  (University of Helsinki),  Mirella Glor (GAWTEC, UFS Schneefernerhaus), Christoph Wehrli (PMO Davos, World Radiation Center),  Till Rehm  (German Meteorological Service-DWD) and Ludwig Ries (Federal Environment Agency).
As part of the training course, the Environmental Research Station Schneefernerhaus, the Hohenpeissenberg Observatory and the Meteorological Observatory at the Zugspitze summit were visited. TSI and Pallas staff assisted to show the principle of measurement of some instruments used for aerosol research.
In this edition, María Isabel García Álvarez, PhD student at the Izaña Atmospheric Research Centre (IARC; Fig.2) attended to the Course. The organization of the course and the activities, as well as the contents, fulfilled all expectations. The treatment received from the staff of the different Stations, Observatories and the Professors was exceptional


Figure 2: Participants in the XXVII GAWTEC (Hohenpeissenberg Observatory).  Jasni Ahmad (Malaysia),  Adéla Holubová Šmejkalová (Czech) , Mingqun Huo (Japan), María Isabel García Álvarez (Spain),  Everlyn Gayle Tamayo (Philippines), Mirella Glor (GAWTEC, UFS Schneefernerhaus),  Zablon Weku Shilenje (Kenya), Rafael Stern (Brazil),  María Elena Barlasina (Argentina) , Nkanyiso Mbatha (South Africa) , Fabricio Avila (Bolivia), Honey Dawn Alas (Philippines), Kay Weinhold (Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research).

You may also like...